Art Prizes For July

Mosman Art Prize, Woollahra Small Sculpture Prize, The Substation Contemporary Art Prize, Redland Art Awards, Doug Moran National Portrait Prize, Eutick Memorial Still Life Award

Mosman Art Prize

The Mosman Art Prize is an annual, acquisitive award for painting sponsored by Mosman Municipal Council. Established in 1947, the Prize is one of the oldest and most prestigious, local government art awards in Australia.
The winning works form a splendid collection of modern and contemporary art, reflecting developments in Australian art practice over the last half a century.
Artists who have won the Mosman Art Prize include Margaret Olley, Guy Warren, Grace Cossington Smith, Weaver Hawkins, Nancy Borlase, Lloyd Rees, Anthony Galbraith, Elisabeth Cummings, Tim Johnson and Guan Wei. Past adjudicators also include notable Australian art figures such as Margaret Preston, John Olsen, Tim Storrier, Jenny Sages and Edmund Capon.
The Mosman Art Prize 2016 exhibition will be on from 20 August to 25 September 2016.
Entries are now being accepted online. The Mosman Art Prize will be judged by Susi Muddiman OAM, Director, Tweed Regional Gallery and Margaret Olley Art Centre. See the Terms and Conditions here:

2016 Woollahra Small Sculpture Prize

Woollahra Council invites emerging and established artists from around the world to enter the 2016 Woollahra Small Sculpture Prize. Over its 16 year history, the prize has featured some of the world's most exciting contemporary sculptures, and continues to promote and celebrate artistic excellence. More about the 2016 prize and awards.
Entries close on Friday 1 July 2016.
You can complete your entry online and pay the AUD$45 fee by credit card or PayPal. Entries submitted online are encouraged.
Download and complete the 2016 entry form (PDF). Enclose a cheque, money order or receipt from PayPal for AUD$45 inclusive of GST per work, made payable to Woollahra Council.


Entries for The SUBSTATION Contemporary Art Prize 2016 are NOW OPEN.
Established in 2011 to encourage and recognise innovation in contemporary art practice, The SUBSTATION Contemporary Art Prize is a non–acquisitive $10,000 cash award for Australian resident artists.
Previous recipients include NATHAN GRAY (VIC, 2014) ERIC BRIDGEMAN (NSW, 2013), ASH KEATING (VIC, 2012) and JEREMY KIBEL (VIC, 2011).
Entry closes on 1 August and the finalists will be announced on 15 August. The winner of the $10,000 award is announced at the opening night of the exhibition.
The SUBSTATION Contemporary Art Prize exhibition will run from 8 September to 9 October.

Redland Art Awards

Redland Art Awards is a biennial painting competition open to all Australian artists. Paintings in oil, acrylic, watercolour, pastel and mixed media are acceptable. Photographs and drawings do not qualify for entry.
Size of entries must not exceed 2m (2000mm) in height.
For Redland Art Awards 2016 the primary award will be an acquisitive prize of $15,000. There will also be runner up awards of $4,000 and a $2,500 Local Environment Award, as well as the Meredith Foxton People's Choice Award proudly sponsored by
Redland Yurara Art Society Inc of $500.
Artists may enter up to three paintings for consideration. Of these three, however, only one painting per artist can be selected for final judging, if selected at all.
Entries must be received by close of business Friday 12 August 2016.
For entries to be considered they must be accompanied by the entry fee, a CV of not more than one page plus a brief statement about the paintings submitted (approximately 100 words). Please note that text provided may not be included in the final exhibition.


The Heysen Prize for Landscape 2016 encourages artists to express their deep connection with, or their deep concern for, the Australian landscape and environment. We wish to acknowledge that the word 'landscape' here includes all possible aspects of the natural, rural, and urban landscape.
The Heysen Prize for Landscape 2016 Acquisitive - $15,000: This prize will be awarded to the work judged best of the exhibition. This is an acquisitive prize with $15,000 prize money.
People's Choice Prize Non-acquisitive - $1,000: This prize is awarded to the work voted for by popular choice as the most appealing work during the exhibition.

Call for entries: Friday 6 May. Entry forms are available online & from the Hahndorf Academy.
Deadline for entries: 5pm Friday 12 August. Entries received after this date will not be accepted.
Exhibition opening: 2:30pm, Saturday 8 October.
Exhibition dates: Saturday 8 October - Sunday 4 December.

Doug Moran National Portrait Prize

The Doug Moran National Portrait Prize encourages both excellence and creativity in contemporary Australian portraiture

Total Prizes $180,000 + opportunity to exhibit at Juniper Hall Paddington NSW

First Prize: $150,000 (One Hundred and Fifty Thousand Dollars)

All Finalists: $1,000 + Opportunity to exhibit at Juniper Hall, Paddington
Entries Close
4pm Wednesday 31 August, 2016

The 2016 Doug Moran National Portrait Prize Exhibition will be held at Juniper Hall, Paddington NSW from Thursday 27 October 2016 until Sunday 5 February 2017.

Eutick Memorial Still Life Award

Acquired for Coffs Harbour Regional Gallery Collection
Collective Prize Money of $20,000 plus People’s Choice Award
Principal Judge: John McDonald

The winning artist will be invited to exhibit in a solo exhibition
Image, entry form and payment to arrive by Friday 19 August 2016
Notification of selection or non-selection posted by Tuesday 13 September 2016
Delivery of selected works to Gallery on 11, 12 or 13 October 2016
Opening night and announcement of winner Friday 11 November 2016
Exhibition period Saturday 12 November to Saturday 7 January 2017