Art Prizes for October & November

M16 Drawing Prize 2016

About the M16 Drawing Prize 2016
This prize is for drawing in either traditional drawing media and techniques, or non-traditional works that extend understanding of what drawing may be within contemporary art practice.
M16 Artspace is a community-based, not-for-profit art organisation that seeks to provide an inclusive space for the practice and exhibition of art within the Canberra art community and beyond.
The judges for this year’s prize are Canberra artist ex DeMedici and Professor Susan Best, Convenor of Fine Art and Art Theory at Queensland College of Art, Griffith University.
$ 1,000 CAPO PRIZE
$2000 anonymously donated, awards to be allocated by judges.

Vida Lahey Memorial Travelling Scholarship

NOW OPEN: Calling all emerging artists and Australian art history graduates
The Vida Lahey Memorial Travelling Scholarship, administered by the Queensland Art Gallery | Gallery of Modern Art (QAGOMA) Foundation gives one emerging Australian artist or Australian art history student the extraordinary opportunity to develop their practice or research through an itinerary of national or overseas travel.
The scholarship offers a generous $40 000 towards a travel budget that ensures the further development of art practice or research that will make a contribution to an understanding of Australian art.
Applications close on Friday 2 December 2016.

Painting Impressionism – 9×5 Art Prize

Following in the footsteps of Streeton, Roberts, Conder and McCubbin
The sketch like qualities widely associated with Impresssion were evident in the work of a significant number of local artist working en plein air in the second half of the 19th century. However the 9×5 Impressionism held by Tom Roberts, Charles Conder, Sir Arthur Streeton and Frederick McCubbin in 1889 reflected a determined and conscious effort to engage local audiences with impressionism.
Waverley Woollahra Art School is following in this tradition with a competition open to all artists, both professional and amateur, of 9×5 works on plywood.
Entry: $25 (includes 9×5 plywood board, available from the WWAS office 1st Prize: $1,000 2nd Prize: $500 (non-acquistive)
Entry forms available from the school, 138 Bondi Road, Bondi, Entry Form for 9×5 – 5
All entries plus artworks must be lodged at the WWAS by 21st November, 2016.

The Ramsay Art Prize

A new $100,000 national art prize supporting contemporary artists under 40.
The Ramsay Art Prize invites submissions from Australian contemporary artists under 40 working in any medium. Held every two years and presented by the James & Diana Ramsay Foundation, the Ramsay Art Prize is an ongoing acquisitive prize. Finalists will be selected by an international judging panel. The selected work will be included in a major exhibition at the Art Gallery of South Australia.

The 2017 Ramsay Art Prize finalist exhibition will be complemented with a People’s Choice Prize supported by sponsor Lipman Karas. The People’s Choice Prize is a non-acquisitive cash prize of $15,000 chosen by a public vote.

Queer Art Prize Australia

Queer Art Prize Australia (QAPA) is a new non-acquisitive art prize to celebrate LGBTIQ art achievements in Australia.

To be held at Chapel Off Chapel during the 2017 Midsumma Festival as part of their 30th anniversary celebrations, Queer Art Prize Australia (QAPA) seeks to be a non-discriminatory art prize to celebrate works relating to the LGBTIQ community or themes by any artist who resides in Australia, or works by those identifying as LGBTIQ.

Entries for the 2017 Queer Art Prize Australia QAPA must have been completed during 2016, and can include any static (not-moving*) art-medium including painting, drawing, photography, sculpture or digital work. Cost to enter is $25.00 – only one entry person will be accepted.

The Judging Panel for the 2017 Queer Art Prize Australia (QAPA) includes Kim Leutwyler (2015 Archibald Finalist), Travis de Jonk (Director/Curator – Watch This Space Gallery) and Rachel ‘Rat’ Simpson (Senior Graphic Designer – SMASH Enterprises).

The Adelaide Perry Prize for Drawing

The Adelaide Perry Prize for Drawing is a $25,000 acquisitive art award among the most significant of its kind in the country.
Inaugurated in 2006, the Prize is generously supported by the Parents and Friends’ Association of PLC Sydney.
Named in honour of respected painter, printmaker and draughtswoman, Miss Adelaide Elizabeth Perry who taught Art at PLC Sydney from 1930 to 1962, the Prize attracts submissions from around the country.
Entries for the 2017 Adelaide Perry Prize for Drawing are now open and close on Wednesday 11 January 2017.